Tags

, , , ,

Last weekend I was startled out of my relaxing, not going to think about tech weekend by posts on all my usual media outlets regarding a new zero day flaw in Windows Internet Explorer. I immediately think of all my customers that have been dragging their feet on upgrading to Windows 7. It was looking like it was going to be a rough week.

We received approximately 3 calls regarding this for help installing new browsers. I’m hopeful the rest just knew how to do it themselves or figured since they don’t use our servers for email or browsing the internet they are safe.

Fast forward to Thursday when I happened to catch the breaking news on US Today’s website while looking into EMV news for a customer. The patch had just come out minutes before. Imagine my surprise when I saw the news that Microsoft patched Windows XP. After pushing everyone to upgrade and stating no security patches would be released for that OS they caved. And good for them, it was the right thing to do. Even better they didn’t make us wait for patch Tuesday.

I just felt from the time that the XP retirement was really publisized to the public, that there might be some flaw in Windows XP that the hackers knew hadn”t been patched and were just waiting to exploit it as soon as Windows XP hit retirement. I didn”t expect it to be in Internet Explorer. I still wouldn’t doubt there is something that hasn’t been patched that hackers are just waiting to exploit in that OS. Only time will tell.

In the meantime I cannot hammer home the point that it is time to upgrade to 7 or 8. For most people 7 is an easy transition. 8 I’m still grousing about but that will have to have it’s own post, maybe once I take the plunge to version 8.1.

