Tags

, , , ,

There was an interesting post on NPR about thr power outages in West Virginia last week. My folks drove down I 64 last Saturday unaware of how bad it was until it was too late to reroute. They were lucky to find gas at an old mom and pop gas station that had old analog pumps. Cash only and they had to wait over an hour to fill up.

This makes me wonder, why don’t more gas stations have backup power sources? Sure most have some battery backups on the registers but what about the pumps?

Considering our dependence on gasoline to power our vehicles, and generators in the event of a power outage, they should be required to have a generator. I’d really rather see wind or solar technology, but the wind doesn’t always blow and the sun goes down at night.

In the meantime, I’m falling back on my wintertime rituals for emergency preparedness year round. Always keep the tank as full as possible and check the weather and news for your route ahead of time. I’m adding to that a stash of food and water on my next roadtrip too.

